Summer Dresses, Episode 5

Thanks for all the nice comments on my last post, especially the commiseration from those of you who’ve gone through the whole dreaded daycare thing. It always helps to hear from folks who’ve gone through these things – so thanks, y’all.

Now, on to my latest sewing project:



Pattern: Mini dress, from Amy Butler’s Mini dress, tunic, and tops pattern.
Fabric: 2 1/2 yards Amy Butler “Lotus” fabric for the size medium (36″ bust).

I was pleasantly surprised by how nicely this turned out. I wasn’t sure if the design would be too tent-like, but it’s great: comfy but not bulky. I think one of the factors for achieving a nicer fit for me was that I didn’t baste the big pleat at center front; I sewed it instead the full 6″ length. This creates a more fitted silhouette above the waist, which works well. I also had to make some adjustments to the neckline, since as usual it was too big on me. I made two darts in the back, and two darts in the front – the latter right on the edges of the square neckline:


Not sure if you can see that; the print hides the darts pretty well.  I lurve this fabric; I’ve been sitting on it for a while, waiting for the right pattern.  Well, this is it!  I’m almost positive I’ll make another of these, especially now that I know how to adjust the top to fit.  I also like that the pattern includes girls’ sizes; I think there will be one of these in my niece’s future.  (And in The Bee’s distant future…)  Incidentally, I’m not sure why this is called a “mini” dress – it reaches nearly to my knees.  Just wanted to point that out for anyone who might be nervous about making it because of the length factor.

11 thoughts on “Summer Dresses, Episode 5

  1. This is my next project – I’ve cut out the pieces and am just waiting to put it together. Your version looks great! I’m excited to try it out now.

  2. Love, love, love this dress!! Wanted to make it for myself but was worried about the tent like fitting issues you described. I’m a bit bigger and bit bustier but I am more encourage to make the dress with your mods and hope for the best. Love the fabric!!! It’s looks wonderful on you. Thanks for the inspiration!

  3. More lovely fabric! I’m always conscious of patterns like this being tent-like as well, but it’s actually a very flattering shape, and it looks really comfy. And pockets!

  4. That is SO cute! Your pleat fix is inspired – just the right amount of fit, while keeping the sharpness of a pleat down the a-line skirt – very funky indeed! I hadn’t given this pattern a second look until now – so I am off to do some online pattern shopping!

  5. Pingback: Sewing FOs: New Duds for My Nieces « A Mingled Yarn

  6. Pingback: Sewing FO: Amy Butler “mini” dress, version 2 « A Mingled Yarn

Leave a Reply

